In observance of the Juneteenth holiday (Freedom Day) our offices will close at Noon on Friday, June 18th and will reopen Monday, June 21st. 
ID Organization Name Type
104777 CFO Other
Search   Search
About College Football Officiating
Print PDF

College Football Officiating, LLC

CFO was formed in 2008 by the NCAA and the Collegiate Commissioners’ Association for the purpose of:

  • Ensuring consistent application of NCAA football playing rules and officiating mechanics;
  • Establishing a central leader for officiating;
  • Enhancing the existing Division I conference officiating programs to ensure officials and conferences adhere to NCAA and CCA rules and policies; and
  • Positioning the officiating community for the future in an attempt to present players, coaches and fans with the best experience possible.

National Coordinator

Rogers Redding is the CFO National Coordinator of Football Officials.  In this role, he serves as the national spokesperson for college officiating issues, works directly with the college football community to accurately communicate officiating issues at all levels, and creates and develops national training programs.  He also assigns and evaluates postseason officiating crews and coordinates national meetings of the college officiating community.

Redding was a Division I referee from 1988 to 2003 in the Southwest Conference and the Southeastern Conference.  His officiating career included three National Championship Games and one SEC Championship.  He also served as the Southeastern Conference Coordinator of Football Officials from 2006 to 2011.  Redding was the NCAA Secretary-Rules Editor for the Football Rules Committee from 2008 until September of 2017.  He has a distinguished background in academia, his last post being the Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs and Professor of Physics at the University of Colorado at Colorado Springs.

Board of Managers

The CFO is governed by a board of 14 managers, composed of 10 representatives from NCAA Division I Bowl Subdivision conferences, two individuals from NCAA Division I Championship Subdivision conferences and two representatives appointed by the NCAA President. In addition, the American Football Coaches Association (AFCA) has a representative in an ex-officio capacity. The CFO Board of Managers is currently comprised of:

Mike Aresco
American Athletic Conference

Larry Scott
Pacific-12 Conference

Judy MacLeod
Conference USA

Greg Sankey
Southeastern Conference

Keith Gill
Sun Belt Conference

Jon Steinbrecher, Chair
Mid-American Conference

Bob Bowlsby
Big 12 Conference

John Swofford
Atlantic Coast Conference

Kevin Warren
Big Ten Conference

Todd Berry
Executive Director
American Football Coaches Association

Tom Burnett
Southland Conference

Craig Thompson
Mountain West Conference

Stan Wilcox
Executive Vice President of Regulatory Affairs

Patty Viverito
Missouri Valley Conference

Steve Shaw
NCAA Secretary-Rules Editor
Ex-Officio Board Member (Effective 9/1/2017)

Joni Comstock
EVP of Championships and Alliances



Scott Bearby
Legal Counsel

David Lafiosca

Ty Halpin

About | Contact | Privacy | Terms
© 2021 ArbiterSports
Server: 22